How to avoid accidentally boosting or deleting posts in Mastodon

If you’re using Mastodon through your server’s website or the web app, you can optionally have it ask you for confirmation before deleting or boosting a post:

  1. Log in through your server’s website or web app
  2. Click on ⚙️ Preferences (if you’re on a phone click ☰ in bottom right corner and then ⚙️ Preferences)
  3. Scroll down to the section marked Boosting Preferences, tick box marked Control boosting visibility if you want to be asked for confirmation before boosting something
  4. On the same page, scroll further down to the section marked Advanced Settings, tick box marked Warn me before deleting a post if you want to be asked for confirmation before deleting a post
  5. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the screen
  6. Click Mastodon logo in top left corner to return to your timeline

What if I’m using an app?

If you’re using the official app:

  1. Click ⚙️ in the top right corner
  2. Scroll down to the section marked Ask Before…, then activate all the options that you want warnings for
  3. Click the < back arrow to go back to your timeline

Third party apps usually have similar settings available, often with even more options, but it will vary from app to app. Click on your app’s settings page (often indicated by a ⚙️ symbol) to see what options your particular app has.

↩ Back to the front page