How do I do likes and re-tweets in Mastodon? What are favourites, boosts and bookmarks?

  • The Mastodon equivalent of “Likes” are “Favourites”, click a post’s star icon ⭐ to favourite that post. Favouriting tells the author that you liked their post.
  • The Mastodon equivalent of a “Re-Tweet” is a “Boost” (and some apps call it a “Re-Blog”). To boost a post, click its circular arrows icon 🔃 or the rocket ship 🚀. Boosted posts will appear in the timeline of everyone who follows you, and boosting will also help a post appear in the trending posts section.
  • There’s also a third option called “Bookmarks” which lets you keep a private list of posts you want to read later. Only you can see your bookmarks, the people you bookmark do not know about it. To bookmark a post, click on its bookmark icon 🔖.

How do I browse all my Favourites and Bookmarks?

All your favourites and bookmarks are stored for you to browse, but are not shown to the public. Here’s how to browse them:

  • On the official Mastodon apps, go to your profile page and click ⋯, then select Favourites or Bookmarks.
  • On your server’s website or web app, click on Favourites or Bookmarks on the right side of the screen. If you’re using the mobile web, you need to click ☰ in bottom right and then clickFavourites or Bookmarks.
  • Third party apps will have various interfaces, try looking on your profile page or on the options/settings menus.

How do I browse my past Boosts?

You can see all your past Boosts by browsing your profile page, they will be mixed in with your own posts in chronological order based on when you boosted them.

The boost button on a particular post is greyed out and I can’t click on it. What is going on?

If the post you want to boost has a non-public visibility setting, it may not be possible for you to share it with your followers. If this is the case, the boost button will be greyed out and you will not be able to click on it.

My bookmarks are disappearing! Is this normal?

Bookmarks should not be disappearing. If this is happening to you, it is probably because your server has an incorrect setting for “Content cache retention period”. Please let your server admin know if this is happening, and send them this link to a guide for how to fix it.

↩ Back to the front page