You can delete your Mastodon account at any time. There’s no cool-off period, the deletion happens as soon as you confirm it.
- Log in through your server’s website
- Go to Preferences > Account > Delete account
- Click Proceed here and follow the instructions. It will ask you for your password to confirm the deletion.
⚠️ After you confirm deletion, it will delete your account straight away and it cannot be restored. Be really sure you want to do this. Once it’s deleted, it is gone forever and no one can bring it back.
After an account is deleted, no one else will be able to use that username on that server, in order to prevent anyone impersonating a deleted user. If you want to sign up for a new account on the same server, you’ll need to think of a new username.